RSS

A legacy in stone…Little Kinnakeet, NC

18 Mar



Sometime I wonder why I do what I do. Why do any of us for that matter, when it comes to cemetery hunting ? But then it happens. Not sure if it’s by chance or by help from beyond, but it does happen. A cemetery appears. And it becomes perfectly clear as to the reasoning behind every self doubted motif. We do it for them. Those who are buried on this sandbar.

Today, was another one of those perfect days in Kinnakeet. HIGPS, definitely took advantage of it. We, meaning Jennifer Creech, Dorene Smeltz, and myself, parked in front of the Little Kinnakeet Life Saving Station and headed out on foot, towards the two cemeteries that we were already aware of. On this visit, we were looking for the third cemetery. One that only yesterday, we were given and estimated location of.

Jenn takes the blue ribbon today though. As Dorene and I walked the waters edge looking at old pieces of glass, pottery, and shells, Jenn walked on ahead. It wasn’t long until we heard her let out a yell. She had found the cemetery. We were all stoked. I did manage to forget to photograph one stone that was propped behind another. We’ll catch that image next go around. 
Hope you enjoy our photographic journey. Angel, you were with us in spirit.

Dawn



 

 

6 responses to “A legacy in stone…Little Kinnakeet, NC

  1. Liz Browning Fox

    March 19, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Great photos……beautiful site to visit on a beautiful day! Thanks so much for sharing it.

     
  2. Reasha

    March 19, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Have you ever seen the washed up tombstones in the Avon village on the soundside? Last time I was there, they were in the water along with all of the bones. I had a friend help me carry them back up to the tree line. If you’d ever want to go, I could show you. There are also old artifacts to be found there. I once found an old inkwell, old dishes, and several odds and ends like buttons and bottles. My friends father has found old pipes and arrow heads there. Its really interesting. Facebook me, if youre interested in seeing it.
    Reasha Midgett

     
  3. Irish Willis Peele

    August 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    My earliest childhood memories are the ghosts of Hatteras village incl. my sister’s “invisible” friends, Charlie & Tennisgard. By day, we were fascinated w/ the community graveyards. By night, we were terrified to walk by them (Lil’ Edgar used to hide behind the stones & make ghost sounds @ us). As an adult examining geneology records, why was I suprised to find that most of the names on the stones are in our family tree? I’m convinced that their spirits can enjoy life through our still beating hearts. Isn’t it funny how we all think alike?! Probably because we’re all related(?)

     
  4. Jaspeer Williams,Jr

    August 2, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Great photo’s. Thanks. JW

     
  5. Jacque

    August 6, 2011 at 12:22 am

    What a wonderful find! At every visit to the Outer Banks I search out the Old Cemeteries. What a wonderful find! I came across one last visit in the spring in Rodanthe that had been semi cleared (before then I did not know it was there) and Polly Herbert and James K and James W Meekins were buried there! I did not know it was there until clearing, I assume for construction?or just to clear out the area had occured. I am sure others knew it was there, I just didn’t.

    I love finding the old cemeteries, and any history/info I can find. As I have heard not once but a hundred times…we’re all related somehow!!!! And I am finding out there is truth in this statement in the OuterBanks and the areas surrounding.

     
    • Hatteras Genealogical and Preservation Society

      August 6, 2011 at 12:29 am

      Hey Jacque…so wonderful to hear from you. And I know the exact cemetery you are speaking of because our genealogy society was behind the partial clearing. The cemetery is located on Mirlo Ct.
      We cleared until all the grave markers were accessible and plan on clearing the rest during cooler weather. Anyways, if you look in the “cemeteries” link of our blog, you will find the story of that
      event. Complete w/ photos. Enjoy !

       

Leave a Reply

 
