RSS

So you think you have Lost Colonist issues ?

20 Apr

Nora Morgan ~ Daughter of John Goin Morgan and Harriet F. Throgmorton

So you think you have Lost Colonist connection issues ? Do you believe that one or more of your
ancestors wound up running around the wilds of North Carolina, mixing with Native Americans,
and producing you…several generations later ? It could happen. But try throwing in the added
chance that you might just be kin to Sir Walter Raleigh, through his wife…Elizabeth Throckmorton.
This is what is happening in my own family tree. Talking about a genealogical tree with branches
flapping in the wind.

For those who are unfamiliar with the whole Sir Walter Raleigh and the Lost Colony story, let me
direct you to the Lost Colony Genealogy and DNA Research Group’s website. Just so you know,
I am a researcher for this award winning research group and the co-administrator for their Hatteras
Families DNA Projects, along with Roberta Estes.

Lost Colony Genealogy and DNA Research Group

Now that you’ve read that, lets continue. But where do we continue to, you might also ask ?
How about Hatteras Island, where my entire Colonist/Raleigh connection may have been formed.

Henry Gibbs, was my Grandfather…seven generations back. His daughter Sarah, married John Jennett.
Gibbs was a surname on the colonist roster. So a few branches farther down the tree, I appear. My
Grandmother, Gladys Jennette, married Kenneth Dickerson Sr. His Grandmother was Harriet F. Throgmorton
who was married to John Goin Morgan. They were from Wayne County, TN. Harriet’s Throgmorton-Throckmorton line, came out Va. Prior to that…England.

So the plot thickens and the well deepens. There is a lot of research to be done, on my end. Years ago, I received an envelope filled with Throgmorton genealogy. I had never really paid much attention to it as I was enthralled with my other family lines. But all that changed when I realized just a couple weeks ago, there was a Throckmorton involved in this epic Lost Colonist story.

Guess now is the time for a Throgmorton/Throckmorton genealogy shout out. If anyone has info on this line, please contact me at the following email address: hatgensoc@yahoo.com

Dawn F. Taylor

 

2 responses to “So you think you have Lost Colonist issues ?

  1. John B. Taylor

    February 21, 2015 at 8:38 pm

    Harriet Frances Throgmorton was my 1st Cousin 4x removed. I would like to exchange THROGMORTON data with you. JT

     

Leave a Reply

 
